Prof. Dr. Sven C. Voelpel

Dr. Sven Voelpel is a professor of business administration at Jacobs University Bremen, the founding director of the WDN – WISE Demography network, and the head of the WISE research group . This group of researchers examine demographic changes and their effects within the labor market. WISE stands for wisdom, innovation, strategy, and energy in the field of organizational development and management. Prof. Voelpel has contributed more than 200 publications in books and scientific journals to these areas of knowledge, including change and knowledge management

Voelpel studied as a graduate student at Harvard University and began his career in teaching ​​strategy and organization theory in 2001. Since then he taught and conducted research at many prestigious universities and institutes around the world, including at the University of St. Gallen and the Tsinghua University in Beijing.

Currently Professor Voelpel is dedicated to the business models, strategies for survival and sustainability of companies under demographic change. Particular attention is paid to the opportunities and risks in innovative solutions of aging workforce.

Professor of Business Administration

Prof.Dr. Sven C. Voelpel

Dr. Sven Voelpel ist Professor für Betriebswirtschaft an der Jacobs University Bremen und Gründungsdirektor des WDN – WISE Demographienetzwerks sowie Leiter der WISE Forschergruppe. Diese Forschergruppe untersucht Veränderungen, die durch den demographischen Wandel verursacht werden und deren Effekte innerhalb der Arbeitswelt. WISE steht für Weisheit, Innovation, Strategie und Energie im Bereich der Organisationsentwicklung und dem Management. Zu diesen Wissensgebieten, einschließlich dem Change- und Wissensmanagement, trug er mit mehr als 200 Publikationen in Büchern und wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften bei.

Voelpel studierte als Doktorand an der Harvard University und begann 2001 seine Karriere in der Lehre im Bereich der Strategie- und Organisationslehre. Seit dem lehrte und forschte er an vielen renommierten Universitäten und Instituten weltweit, u.a. an der Universität St. Gallen und der Tsinghua-Universität in Peking.

Gegenwärtig arbeitet Professor Voelpel an Geschäftsmodellen, Strategien für das Überleben und die Zukunftsfähigkeit von Unternehmen im demographischen Wandel. Besonderes Augenmerk gilt hierbei den Chancen und Risiken, die alternde Belegschaften in Hinsicht auf Innovation bieten.

Professor of Business Administration